First of all this is not about movies like Rang de Basanti or the like which are extraordinary in their own right, when I say hindi movies I mean the kind which we love to hate. Yeah, I'm talking about '
Bhagum bhag' and its bastard cousins. Now on the (possible) saving grace of most of the worst.
Dance.
The essence of a Hindi movie. Each must have at least four to be marketable according to the general public which considers random dances with teleporting, quick changing and voice over special effects, awesome. Fun to rail on, there are just so many things to dislike. Until you get into the habit of ignoring the lyrics and seeing only the dance and music. (Case in point
'Sajni Vaari Vaari',
never play that near a feminist)
It's incredible what they do. Especially Hritik who I have a lot of respect for after Dhoom 2. He's actually a decent actor and insanely good dancer. Many of our actors are pretty damn good, none as good as him but still incredible. This actually has the potential of rescuing a film with bad direction, bad storylines, bad acting and a bad cast in a bad location. People can at least walk out of the theatre saying, "That's a mean dance, got to try that out." and I don't mean that sarcastically. Until our mainstream movie industry starts to do at least original stories that's the best they can hope to have.
When you're into that and you see the months of practise, gallons of water you drink to not dehydrate, walking with a limp for a few days and feel your body bending in ways you never imagined, all for 3 exhilarating minutes on stage; you begin to appreciate that. Any skeptics out there I challenge to do anything, just one step from the video of
Dhoom Again and pull it off looking half as good. It's not as easy as it looks.